Eulogy Postponed

And the miracle of today

Inspiration

My mother is my role model. Someday I hope to be half as amazing as she is and there is nothing I have accomplished to this day that I cannot trace back to her. She is amazing in every way possible and inspires me constantly. Her spirit is indomitable and I don’t know what/who/where I would be without her in my life.

Mom, make sure to bookmark this for Mother’s day!

At the last photo sharing event, my parents came with me and heard stories from other people who are involved with African Road. As soon as we were in the car, she was reflecting on what she had seen and heard. Inspiration had struck and she wanted to do more [than write another large check]. Seeing some of the extreme conditions people were living in in East Africa and comparing it to life in America, she came home saying “If we sell that old Chevy pickup down in the barn, we can help that community!” Now, my parents are not rich nor do they live an excessive life, but it seems old barns collect old things and kids old rooms collect things (sometimes even old kids). So they are taking inventory and planning to sell some of those things they have sitting in storage, collecting dust to invest. First up is the some-day-it-will-get-fixed-up ’66 Chevy pickup.

[Sorry, no camera. Pretend there’s a photo of it here.]

Taking forgotten things out to sell and raise funds for some forgotten people. 

I am perpetually inspired by this woman.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. Christine on said:

    Your mom is amazing!

  2. I agree Sarah, your mother is one totally remarkable woman!! Beautiful spirit, kind and generous, and oh so gracious!

  3. Love that woman–and her brother—and YOU!
    :)

  4. Oh, Sarah! You give me way too much credit! You are guided by much more than your silly Mom. You’re in God’s hands. :)

  5. Suzanne Dekkers on said:

    Your mum rocks!!! Apple didn’t fell far from the tree though ;)

  6. Leonard on said:

    I agree that I have that best sister I could ever have asked for! And a very wonderful niece too!

Leave some love

