Eulogy Postponed

And the miracle of today

One week back home and one huge problem

Well, I suppose my eyes have been opened. There are so very many different shades of pain and suffering in this world, I think I’ll either have to turn into a hermit and avoid the rest of the world or get back out there. And you know I’m one for confronting those uncomfortable things (like the freezing cold weather!).

I did not partake in the Thanksgiving festivities. Being nearly comatose with jet lag and a cold, I slunk into the back room where I slept. But don’t let that fool you, it wasn’t just that I avoided the whole messy situation. Round two (dessert) was waiting for me when I woke up.

If the numbers of desserts doesn't shock you, I hope the fact there is not one pumpkin pie does.

If the numbers of desserts doesn’t shock you, I hope the fact there is not one pumpkin pie does.

Of course it wasn’t that I don’t love my family getting together around heaped plates of tasty turkey, the best stuffing, potatoes and gravy, two kids of sweet potatoes, roast roots, cole slaw, broccoli salad and the bowls and bowls of black olives. Of course not. I don’t know that there is an event my family will not use as an excuse to eat. Holidays, all stops are pulled. Birthdays we just take a little longer break after dinner to watch presents being opened before starting on dessert. Funerals, friends bring more of the food, but everyone’s still eating. Stopping by on your way home? Have some food! Don’t leave without having something. And can we send a goodie bag with you, too?

Some might wonder if they didn’t get enough to eat as children and now compensate by feeding everyone who can eat. To make sure no one is wanting. So perhaps I should leave the starving kids where they are, rummaging in Bujumbura’s city dump. Forget about them, roll up my shirt sleeves and dig in. Perhaps I will, but I am thankful to have been able to skip a meal in their honor. It was the one meal I most look forward to all year. If the tiny rumblings in my tummy can help me take perspective on those tiny empty Batwa tummies, I will readily abandon Thanksgiving dinner for them. Instead of giving thanks by gorging myself, I think I am going to start my own tradition of being thankful I have so much food available!

I thought I'd try making more time for art now that I'm home. This is my first piece. Unwhipped cream meets unscrewed cap.  Pricetag is one million dollars. The cost of removing the floor of the house is included, transport is not.

I thought I’d try making more time for art now that I’m home. This is my first piece. Unwhipped cream meets unscrewed cap.
Pricetag is one million dollars.
The cost of removing the house floor is included, transport is not.

Also, sitting back and watching with the knowledge I was not eating was almost enjoyable. Not just because I didn’t have eight extra pounds digesting in my stomach or because I had not had to elbow my way into line before all the dark meat disappeared. Eating takes attention. I was able to observe the family dynamics in a whole different way. Watching people eat isn’t creepy at all, is it?

Now my most anticipated meal of the year: The day after Thanksgiving. Is it bad form if I ask for leftovers to be spared to the day after? Cuz I’m so going to be doing that!

My tiny elephant learns about healthy fats.

My tiny elephant learns about healthy fats.

The huge problem is lack of resources in third world countries. But I’m back in America where I don’t have to think about them. My huge problem (other than the problem of all that spilt cream) is how to make skinny jeans look good over two sets of long underwear!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “One week back home and one huge problem

  1. theresa novak on said:

    Well, we all have our karma to deal with. whether it was created in this life or in past lives. Whether that is lack of something (food), or an excess of something (food). I am learning to appreciate my karmic experiences and try to not classifiy them as “good” or ” bad”, but just expereinces, a chance to either burn off some “bad” karma, or to reap the reward of “good” karma. In watching others experience thier karma, I am trying to learn to just send love out to all, including myself and not beat myself up for what seems like a much better life than others. Much love to all.

  2. Suzanne Dekkers on said:

    Never thought the day would come were you would welcome skinny jeans!!
    You are a very good person Sarah! It’s hard to realize that the world we know as our very own isn’t reality for the majority of the world! It’s wrong, and little steps do count!

    Bless you Sarah! Xxx Dutchie

  3. jeanmca on said:

    dear Sarah, thanks for sharing your musing and processing. I wonder how your family perceived your choice not to eat with them, but only observing them eat?

    I do miss you!

    So, to put you on my list to receive my updates, what email do I use? I assume not this blog address.

    love, J

    Date: Thu, 5 Dec 2013 14:50:48 +0000 To: jeanmca@msn.com

Leave some love

