Eulogy Postponed

And the miracle of today

Parties and meetings, meetings and parties. And lots of food.

With only a few days left, that’s all there is to do! Party, meet, eat, party, eat, meet, meet, eat.

Togetherness Youth Cooperative Party

Togetherness Youth Cooperative Party. All the kids Steven has “adopted” dancing up a storm.

These ladies know how to dance!

This photo would have been so great if I’d had Leigh’s camera! There is video of this for you, too!

They start training real early. There is a 3 month old baby on mamma's back there, too

They start training real early. There is a 3 month old baby on mamma’s back there, too

Parties to celebrate the awesome people African Road is working with. Meetings with leaders, Patrick for organizing sponsors, important farming type people (let’s grow mushrooms! Or at least start farming sustainably, eh?), and board members of really cool NGOs.

Do you know the mushroom man? His name is Sam!

Do you know the mushroom man?
Sam, Sam, the mushroom man!

Patrick with his first and eldest adopted daughter, Grace.

Patrick with his first and eldest adopted daughter, Grace.

Meeting New Destiny farmers

Meeting New Destiny farmers

Breakfast meeting? Susan is a board member vacationing with her daughter.

Breakfast meeting?
Susan is a board member is here vacationing with her daughter and they’re doing all the really fun things for me.

As you probably know, all meetings must include food, drinks or both.

Berbere is better

Berbere is better.

But Chinese duck is bestest!

But Chinese duck is bestest!

So the real reason I’ll be fasting over Thanksgiving isn’t to raise awareness, it is because I’ve gained enough weight over the last month that I’m worried about keeping my shape from becoming too round.

Dressed up for a party!

Dressed up for a party!
Coach is, obviously, not me.

It’s been delicious and fun and informative and beriyoshe (delicious) and loud and busy and delicious. It has been hard for me to realize my time here is ending. I’ve been here long enough my mind has adapted to Rwandan rhythms. While rainy season has finally begun, I am looking forward to getting back home. The sweaty heat is overrated. But it’s hot hot heat until just after noon when the rain arrives for an hour or two, drops 5 to 20mm or so and quits. Wierd. Freezing temperatures will be shockingly refreshing. Or so I keep telling myself….

The chicken coop isn't exactly water tight.

The sky is falling! See the chickens under the box on the left?

Tomorrow there are two more meetings, then Lori leaves. I’ve a report to finish writing for Lori about the kids in Cyangugu. I don’t think I gave it justice with the blog post I wrote, so I’ll probably share it after it’s finished. Hopefully there’s also time for another meeting with Patrick for some final details and to give him my laptop. He or one of his kids will be able to get more use out of it than I do (Grace could use one for university or Eric in high school). There’s no such thing as free public internet here and I need a good excuse to hang out at the library more.

Lovely Miss Rebecca.  As if my parents didn't have enough awesome kids of their own, they're sponsoring her education for the next several years.  What's next, eh?

Lovely Miss Rebecca.
As if my parents didn’t have enough awesome kids of their own, they’re sponsoring her education for the next several years.
What’s next, eh?

This won’t be my last blog post, I promise. But it may be the last time you hear from me before I get back home. I’ve learned flying into the wind currents will make my layover about 8 hours shorter. So I only have a 10 hour layover this time, hooray! Meaning I might have to see if there are any standby seats available on an earlier flight. There are flights to LA, Denver or Chicago that would get me in about 6 hours earlier. Which would be awesome since I’ll be too cold and too broke to leave the airport.

4pm Kigali to Ethiopia. 10:15pm Ethiopia to DC. Hang out from 7:30am to 5:30pm when I fly to PDX. Hope mom and dad bring me a big warm coat And a warm fuzzy blanket, scarf, mittens and a hat. At least. Maybe a hot water bottle too…

Oh, and don’t forget the Christmas cds.

And Mickey Mouse Christmas on tv, besides!

Why do we wait until after Thanksgiving to put up decorations in the US, anyways?

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Parties and meetings, meetings and parties. And lots of food.

  1. theresa novak on said:

    What a lovely send off! will be so glad to see you beautiful face. fyi, storms coming into the East Coast, so you may want to keep a few bucks is case your lay over is longer than you think. much love

  2. Erin Weisensee on said:

    Oh, drat. I’m gonna miss these. Please, please, please keep me on your list. I really wanna join in the fun!! Love you!

  3. Wahoo! Congrats to be headed home. Looks like you had fun and that you are living a life of great purpose. :). I too am fasting for t day, so you are not alone there. :)

    Safe travels.

  4. Suzanne Dekkers on said:

    Sarah, can’t believe your fantastic trip is ending so soon. Thanks for writing an inspiring blog! Miss you and enjoy every single second :)
    Much love xoxo Suus

  5. Leonard on said:

    Thanks for sharing your experience that you have immersed yourself in. Looking forward to get a good Sarah hug soon. love

  6. gosh darn it, Sarah–I think you really should consider moving to Rwanda! And staying in my house! I hope you got home ok without freezing totally! Miss you–happy Thanksgiving, and Christmas! Love. J

  7. Yay! I’m so happy you had such an amazing and enriching experience Sarah! But I’m also very happy to get to see you soon!!! I love you!

    PS: We may not have decorations up yet but I have been listening to Christmas music shamelessly off and on for about a month now. :p

Leave some love

